After fixing errors and restarting my computer, the screen turns blank with just the cursor. Is this because of Remo Optimizer?

We would like to confirm you that Remo Optimizer software will never prompt users to restart the computer after fixing errors. The restart is only prompted after installation of Windows Update. The Black or Blank screen issue happens only when a Windows Update was not properly installed. Whenever Windows Update prompts you to install update and restart or shutdown, please ensure to install the Update completely. During installation of Windows Updates never Shutdown, Hibernate or Restart your computer forcefully.

Interrupting Windows Update installation would affect the programs in your computer and sometimes it may even give you a “Black Screen”. In case your computer is shutdown during a Windows Update, Windows 8 or 8.1 users get a blank or black screen without any desktop background and the desktop items.

In order to solve this issue you need to restore your computer to an earlier date before the latest Windows Update was installed. Follow the steps below to restore your computer to an earlier date:

  • Press CTRL + ALT + DEL keys together to launch Task Manager
  • In Task Manager, click on "File" menu and click on "New Task (Run...)"
  • Type ‘cmd’ without quotes and click OK
  • At the command prompt, type rstrui.exe, and then press Enter
  • System Restore window will open, click ‘Next’
  • Check the previous restore points with respect to the dates
  • If you were unable to find the restore date you need, check mark the check box “Show more restore points”
  • Select a particular update and click on “Scan for affected programs” button
  • This will run a scan and list you the affected programs that will be lost after restoring
  • Check whether the recent Windows update is included on the list
  • Also, check if there are any other programs that you might need is also in the list
  • Once everything is confirmed click “Next” to start System Restore.

Note: Please be aware that the listed applications after "Scan for affected programs", will be removed after restoring the PC to an earlier date. None of your saved files will be affected due to System Restore.

Once after restoring your computer Windows need to be updated again. Make sure to update the computer without any interruptions. If you are using a Laptop do not close the lid until the Windows Update installation completes 100%. As the “Power Options” in your Laptop might forcefully shutdown or hibernate when you close the lid.

Here you can find an article published by Microsoft for the Black Screen issue.

Related FAQ's:

Safe and Secure
Safe and Secure
Awards