Recycle Bin

Recycle Bin provides a temporary storage for files deleted from a computer’s hard disk. These deleted files may vary from deleted desktop shortcuts, Office document, Applications, Movie files, etc. The space utilized to store the deleted items in Recycle Bin is specified in Megabyte. The default size of Windows Recycle Bin, is around 10 percent of hard disk drive, but can be changed when as per user’s needs.

The files deleted are stored in Recycle Bin on the basis of First in First out (FIFO). As the Recycle Bin folder reaches its maximum capacity, the old data is deleted automatically on the basis of FIFO, and new files get in the Recycle Bin.


Confirmation Message:

You can receive different messages depending upon the settings of Recycle Bin. You receive a confirmation message each time when you delete a file. This option can be changed by following simple procedure:

  • Open properties by right clicking on Recycle bin.
  • Disable the option display confirm deletion dialog.

After these settings, all your deleted files move to Recycle Bin without prompting a confirmation message. Irrespective of confirmation message turned on or not in Recycle Bin, all deleted data moves to it. You can even configure your system to delete a file without moving to Recycle Bin by enabling option available in properties of Recycle Bin.

Restore Recycle Bin items

As long as files and folders exist in the Recycle Bin they can be restored to their original location using the ‘Restore’ option.

You can undelete deleted files by selecting file in Recycle Bin and right click it you find an option to restore. Click it and the file would be restored back to the place from where it was deleted. If you have multiple hard drives organized on your system, dialog box offers a tab for each of them so that you can configure an independent and separate Recycle Bin on each drive. At bottom of Recycle Bin explorer, you find details of selected file.

Files by-passing Recycle Bin

Sometimes files on deletion by-passes Recycle Bin, as when

  • File(s) or folder(s) deleted with key combination of Shift + Deleted
  • When the size of file(s) deleted is more than the available capacity of Recycle Bin
  • Files that are deleted from removable media do not navigate to Recycle Bin, these files also by-pass the Windows Recycle Bin.
  • Deletions at the DOS prompt
  • Deletions from compressed (zipped) folders.

When file is deleted, only the pointer to the file is set free. By deleting this file pointer the file becomes invisible to the operating system. User can lose important files from Recycle Bin for this purpose there are several utilities available to perform Recycle Bin recovery.

Related Info

How to Recover Files from Emptied Recycle Bin:
When you click on 'Empty the Recycle Bin' option all the files and folders are removed from the Recycle Bin. In order to recover files from emptied from Recycle Bin use Remo Recover (Windows) software. This is quick to download and install also it is easy to use.