數據恢復軟件

數據恢復軟件

Remo Recover Windows 6.0

所有新的强大的数据恢复软件

在严重数据丢失情况下轻松从任何存储设备中恢复数据。

$99.97

$69.97

1 Month license

立即購買

文件修復工具

文件修復工具

MOV 修復工具

完整的視頻修復工具包

修復您無法播放影片(MOV和MP4)安全.

$79.97

$69.97

立即購買

Outlook工具

Outlook工具

Outlook 備份和遷移

終極 Outlook 備份工具

安全的方式來備份和移動電子郵件和聯繫人

$59.97

$49.97

立即購買

Remo ONE

Remo ONE

其他實用程序

其他實用程序

重複的照片卸妝

高級 重複的照片查找器和清潔工具

查找和刪除重複的照片並增加3 - 點擊的磁盤空間!

$29.97

$19.97

立即購買

中文

如何在 Outlook 中压缩 PST 文件?

PST 文件已达到其最大限制? 无法发送或接收电子邮件? 这是您可以尝试在 Outlook 中压缩 PST 和 OST 文件的所有方法的汇编。 如果您想修复由于大尺寸而损坏的 PST 文件,您可以使用 Remo PST 修复工具对其进行修复。

内容表:

Microsoft Outlook 是企业界使用最广泛的电子邮件应用程序。 每当您定期发送或接收电子邮件时,Outlook 数据文件的大小都会逐渐增大。 这些巨大的 PST 和 OST 文件可能会导致诸如 Outlook 需要更长时间才能打开、搜索需要更长时间、性能下降甚至 Outlook 频繁崩溃等问题。

当您收到一条消息并且您的 PST 已达到其最大大小限制时,删除一些不重要的电子邮件或文件夹会有所帮助。 但是,当这些电子邮件和文件夹存储在 PST 或 OST 文件中时,它们可能不会自动缩小。 在这种情况下,您需要找到减小 Outlook 数据文件大小的方法。

注意: 使用 POP 帐户配置 Outlook 的用户会将所有信息存储在个人存储表上,即 PST 文件。 对于使用 Microsoft 365Exchange Server 帐户、Outlook.com 或已使用 IMAP 帐户配置 Outlook 的用户,信息将存储在脱机存储表中,即 PST 文件。

要压缩 Outlook 数据文件 .pst 或 .ost,您可以尝试本文中给出的手动方法。 您可以选择 Outlook 的版本并继续缩小 Outlook 数据文件的大小。 首先,让我们了解压缩 PST 文件或压缩 OST 文件是否安全。

减小 Outlook 数据文件的大小是否安全?

压缩 Outlook 数据文件无疑是安全的,因为它会影响 Outlook 的性能。 还有其他几件事需要考虑。

当 Outlook PST 文件逐渐增长时,它可能会占用您硬盘上的大量空间。 这也可能会降低硬盘驱动器的性能。

有时,当 PST 文件达到最大限制 它们可能会损坏并导致 Outlook 失败,让您别无选择,只能修复 PST 文件。

考虑到这些因素,我们可以说减小 Outlook PST 文件大小是安全的。 但是,如果您不是精通技术的人,并且正在寻找一种自动压缩 Outlook 数据文件大小的方法,则可以考虑使用可靠的第三方 Outlook 压缩工具。

在深入研究压缩 PST 文件之前,我们仍然可以通过清理 Outlook 邮箱来获取电子邮件。

重要的提示: Microsoft Outlook 只能在文件上有 20% 的空白或未使用空间时压缩 Outlook 数据文件。 如果 Outlook 数据文件已超出其大小限制,您可以备份 Outlook 数据文件,然后尝试压缩它。 但必须注意不要在尝试压缩 Outlook 数据文件时损坏或损坏它。

但是,如果您之前尝试过压缩 Outlook 数据文件并以损坏的 PST 文件结束,您可以使用 Remo PST 修复工具.

管理 Outlook 邮箱大小

方法用于 Outlook 2021, Outlook 2019, Outlook 2016, Outlook 2013, Outlook 2010 Microsoft 365.

有几种方法可以减小 Outlook 邮箱的大小。 借助邮箱清理工具,您可以查看和修改邮箱和文件夹的大小。 此工具将帮助您找到不再需要的较大电子邮件或旧电子邮件。

运行邮箱清理的步骤:

  • 打开 Outlook,然后单击 File 标签。
  • 前往 Tools 然后点击 Mailbox Clean-up.
compact PST file in Outlook
  • 选择您要执行的选项。 如 View Mailbox Size, View Deleted Items Size, Auto Archive, Empty Deleted Items, View items larger than, find items larger than 和其他意见,例如 View Conflicts Size 或者 Empty Conflicts.
compress Outlook data file

什么是Outlook conflicts? 冲突是在发生冲突时创建的项目,即当项目不同步时。 当存储在您的电子邮件服务器上的项目和存储在本地计算机上的项目时 不同步 Outlook 创建一个文件夹,名为 Conflicts. 过使用邮箱清理工具,您可以摆脱冲突并为您创建一些临时空间。

您还可以使用 Conversation Clean-Up 删除长线程电子邮件或冗余消息的工具。 这可以帮助您删除占用大量空间的不需要的消息。

还有另一个 Outlook 选项可以帮助您删除大型电子邮件,您可以通过单击搜索框搜索大型电子邮件并键入要删除的电子邮件的大小。

例如,您要删除大于 10mb 的电子邮件,然后键入 message size: > 10mb 在搜索框中。 这将帮助您找到大于 10 MB 的电子邮件,您可以根据需要删除不需要的电子邮件或将电子邮件移动到另一个 PST 文件。

Reduce Outlook PST file size

这些是您可以尝试管理 Outlook 邮箱的一些方法。 现在,我们将讨论如何在 Outlook 2007 中压缩 PST 文件。

如何在 Outlook 2007 中压缩 Outlook 数据文件?

每当您删除文件或电子邮件时,PST 或 OST 文件的大小会自动减小,即使您不使用计算机但 Outlook 在后台运行也会发生这种情况。 但是,如果您需要立即压缩 Outlook PST 文件,请按照以下步骤操作。

在 MS Outlook 2007 中压缩 Outlook PST 文件大小的步骤:

  • 点击 File 选项卡,然后转到 Data file Management.
  • 现在,选择要压缩的数据文件并选择 Settings.
  • 然后点击 Compact Now, 这将帮助您减少 PST 大小,因为 Outlook 将开始压缩 PST 文件。
Compact PST file size in Outlook

在 Outlook 2007 中减小 OST 文件大小的步骤:

注意: 这种方法只会帮助你 减小 OST 文件的大小 当您删除更多项目并提高性能时。 这不会删除存储在服务器上的任何数据。

  • 您可以先删除所有不需要的电子邮件和文件夹,然后清空 Deleted items 文件夹。
  • 前往 Tools 菜单通过单击 File 选项卡。 然后单击 Account Settings.
  • 你会找到列表,从列表中选择 Microsoft Exchange Server 然后点击 Change.
  • 现在,点击 More Settings 并前往 Advanced 选项卡,然后单击 Offline Folder File Settings. 然后按 Compact Now. 您不会在压缩后退出 Outlook。
PST file size reduction

如何减少 Outlook 2010 中的 PST 文件大小?

若要在 Outlook 2010 中手动压缩 PST 文件,请按照以下方法操作。 根据 PST 文件的大小,减小 PST 文件的大小可能需要几分钟时间。

压缩 PST 文件 Outlook 2010 的步骤:

  • 在中 File 标签, Account Settings, 然后点击 Account Settings 再次。
  • 前往 Data Files 选项卡,选择要压缩的 PST 文件。
  • 点击 Settings, 然后按 Compact Now. 等待 Outlook 压缩您的 PST 文件。 您也可以使用相同的方法来压缩 OST 文件。

如何在 Outlook 2016、Outlook 2019 和 Outlook 2021 中压缩 Outlook PST 文件?

在新版本的 Outlook 中压缩 PST 或 OST 文件与旧版本的 Outlook 非常相似。 请记住,当您手动尝试压缩 Outlook 数据文件时,Outlook 最多需要几分钟,但可以轻松克服过大的 OST 文件和 PST 文件。

减小 Outlook 数据文件 PST 或压缩 OST 文件大小的步骤:

  • 您可以从 Outlook 中删除不需要的电子邮件,然后转到 Deleted items 文件夹并将其清空。
  • 点击 File 标签, Account Settings 然后再次选择 Account Settings.
  • 前往 Data files 选项卡,然后选择要压缩的 PST 文件,双击它,将出现一个弹出窗口。

注意: 压缩 OST 文件 Outlook 2016 和更新版本,使用 Exchange Account 或者你正在使用 Outlook.com. 应该点击 Advanced 标签并转到 Outlook Data File Settings.

  • 然后点击 Compact Now.

经常问的问题:

我应该压缩 PST 文件吗?

是的,有时需要压缩 PST 文件。 随着时间的推移,Outlook 数据文件可能会变得相当大。 对于 Outlook 用户来说,处理大文件绝非易事。 大型 PST 文件可能会导致性能下降等重大问题。

如何在不打开 Outlook 的情况下压缩 PST 文件?

您可以使用可靠的第三方软件在没有 Outlook 的情况下压缩 PST 文件。 您可以使用的工具之一是 PST 压缩软件,它可以轻松帮助您在没有 Outlook 的情况下压缩帖子文件。

压缩 PST 文件有什么作用?

压缩 Outlook 数据文件可以释放以前由电子邮件或文件夹占用的空间。 除了提高 Outlook 的性能外,这还可以显着减少 OST 或 PST 文件在硬盘驱动器上占用的空间量。

默认图片
John Harris

Senior Editor, Content Analyst and a fan of exceptional customer service. John develops and publishes instructional and informational content regarding partition management, Windows hot-fixes, data management and computer troubleshooting.

As a tenured data recovery specialist, John shares exceptional insights and blog posts about data loss and data recovery across any storage device. With 8+ years’ experience in writing for Data Recovery for both Mac OS and Windows OS computers, he is an avid learner who always wants to polish and simplify the data recovery process. John passes his free time playing Chess and reading Science Fiction novels.

文章: 45

留下评论

Data Recovery Software

Remo Recover Windows 6.0

All New Powerful Data Recovery Software

Easily Recover Data from any Storage Device under Severe Data Loss Scenarios.

$99.97

$69.97

1 Month license

Buy Now

File Repair Tools

MOV Repair Tool

Complete Video Repair Tool kit

Repair your Unplayable Videos (MOV & MP4) securely

$79.97

$69.97

Buy Now

Outlook Tools

Outlook Backup and Migrate

Ultimate Outlook Backup Tool

Secure Way to Backup & Move emails & Contacts

$59.97

$49.97

Buy Now

Remo ONE

Remo ONE

Other Utilities

Duplicate Photos Remover

Advanced Duplicate Photos Finder and Cleaner Tool

Find & Remove Duplicate Photos & increase disk space in 3 - Clicks!!

$29.97

$19.97

Buy Now

English

How to Compact PST File in Outlook?

PST file has reached it's maximum limit? Unable to send or receive emails? Here is a compilation on all the methods you can try to compact PST and OST files in Outlook. If you want to repair PST file that is corrupted due to it's large size you can repair it using Remo PST Repair tool.

Table of Contents:

Microsoft Outlook is the most extensively used email application in the corporate world. Whenever you send or receive emails on a regular basis, the size of the Outlook data file keeps growing gradually. These huge PST and OST files can cause difficulties like Outlook taking longer to open, searches taking longer, performance deterioration, and even frequent Outlook crashes. 

When you receive a message and your PST has reached its maximum size limit, deleting some unimportant emails or folders would help. However, when these emails and folders are stored on PST or OST files they may not shrink automatically. In such cases, you need to find a way to reduce the size of the Outlook data file. 

Note: Users who have configured Outlook with a POP account will have all the information stored on Personal Storage Table i.e., PST file. For users who use Microsoft 365, Exchange Server Account, Outlook.com or have configured Outlook with IMAP account, the information will be stored on Offline Storage Table i.e., PST file. 

To compact Outlook data file .pst or .ost you can try manual methods given in this article. You can select the version of your Outlook and proceed to shrink Outlook data file size. First, let us understand if it is safe to shrink PST file or compact OST file. 

Is it safe to reduce the size of Outlook data files?

It’s no doubt safe to compact Outlook data files, as it affects performance of Outlook. There are several other things to consider.  

When the Outlook PST file grows gradually, it can take up a significant amount of space on your hard drive. This may reduce the performance of your hard drive as well. 

Sometimes, when PST files reach maximum limit they may get corrupted and cause failure of Outlook, leaving you with no option but to repair PST files. 

Considering these things, we can say that it is safe to reduce Outlook PST file size. However, if you're a non-tech savvy person and looking for an automated way to compress Outlook data file size you can consider taking help of reliable third-party Outlook compression tools. 

Before we deep dive into compacting PST files, we can still manage to get emails by cleaning up Outlook mailboxes. 

Important Note: The Microsoft Outlook can only compact Outlook data files when there is 20% of white space or unused space available on the file. If the Outlook data file has overgrown its size limit you can take backup of the Outlook data file and then try to compact it. But necessary care has to be taken to not to damage or corrupt Outlook data file while trying to compact it. 

However, If you tried compacting Outlook data files before and ended up with corrupt PST files you can easily repair it using the Remo PST Repair tool

Manage Outlook Mailbox Size

Methods for Outlook 2021, Outlook 2019, Outlook 2016, Outlook 2013, Outlook 2010 and Microsoft 365. 

There are several methods to reduce the size of your Outlook mailbox. With the help of Mailbox Cleanup tool you can view and modify the size of your mailbox and folders. This tool will help you find larger emails or old emails which you don’t need anymore. 

Steps to Run Mailbox Cleanup:

  • Open Outlook and click on the File tab. 
  • Go to Tools and then click on Mailbox Cleanup.
compact PST file in Outlook
  • Select the options which you want to perform. Such as View Mailbox Size, View Deleted Items Size, Auto Archive, Empty Deleted Items, View items larger than, Find items larger than and other opinions such as View Conflicts Size or Empty Conflicts
compress Outlook data file

What are Outlook conflicts? Conflicts are the items that get created when there is conflict i.e., when items go out of sync. When an item stored on your email server and item stored on your local computer go out of sync Outlook creates a folder called Conflicts. By using Mailbox Cleanup tool you can get rid of conflicts and create some temporary space for you

You can also use the Conversation Clean Up tool to remove long thread emails or redundant messages. This could help you remove unwanted messages that take up a lot of space. 

There’s also another Outlook option that could help you delete large emails, you can search for large emails by clicking on Search Box and type the size of emails you want to delete. 

For example, you want to delete emails larger than 10mb then type message size: > 10mb in Search Box. This will help you find emails larger than 10 MB you can delete unwanted emails or move emails to another PST file according to your need. 

Reduce Outlook PST file size

These are some of the ways you can try to manage your Outlook Mailbox. Now, we will discuss how you can compress a PST file in Outlook 2007. 

How to Compact Outlook data files in Outlook 2007?

Whenever you delete a file or email the size of PST or OST files is automatically reduced, this happens even if you are not using your computer but Outlook is running in the background. However, if you need to compress Outlook PST files immediately follow the procedure below. 

Steps to compact Outlook PST file size in MS Outlook 2007:

  • Click on File Tab, and go to Data file Management
  • Now, select the data file that you want to compact and choose Settings.
  • Then click on Compact Now, this will help you reduce PST size as Outlook will start compacting the PST file.
Compact PST file size in Outlook

Steps to Reduce OST file size in Outlook 2007:

Note: This method will only help you reduce the size of the OST file when you delete more items and improves performance. This will not delete any data that is stored on the server. 

  • You can firstly delete all the emails and folders you don’t want and then empty the Deleted items folder. 
  • Go to the Tools menu by clicking on the File tab. Then click on Account Settings
  • You’ll find the list, from the list select Microsoft Exchange Server and click on Change
  • Now, click on More Settings and go to the Advanced tab, then click on Offline Folder File Settings. Then press Compact Now. You don't exit Outlook after compacting.
PST file size reduction

How to Reduce PST file size in Outlook 2010?

To manually compact the PST file in Outlook 2010, follow the methods below. It can take several minutes to reduce the size of a PST file depending on the size of it. 

Steps to Compact PST file Outlook 2010:

  • In the File tab, Account Settings, then click on Account Settings again. 
  • Go to the Data Files tab, choose the PST file that you want to compress.
  • Click on Settings, the press Compact Now. Wait for Outlook to compact your PST file. You can also use the same methods to compress OST file. 

How to Compact Outlook PST file in Outlook 2016, Outlook 2019 and Outlook 2021?

Compacting PST or OST file in newer versions of Outlook is very similar to that of older versions of Outlook. Keep in mind when you manually try to compact Outlook data files Outlook takes up to several minutes, but can easily overcome oversized OST files and PST files. 

Steps to reduce size of Outlook Data file PST or Compress OST file:

  • You can delete the unwanted emails from your Outlook, then go to the Deleted items folder and empty it. 
  • Click on File Tab, Account Settings and then again choose Account Settings
  • Go to the Data files tab, and choose the PST file you want to compact, double click on it and a pop-up window will appear.

Note: To compact OST file Outlook 2016 and newer version, with Exchange Account or you’re using Outlook.com. You should click on the Advanced tab and go to Outlook Data File Settings

  • Then click on Compact Now

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. Should I compact the PST file?

Yes,  sometimes it becomes necessary to compact PST files. Over time, an Outlook data file might get rather large. Working with large files is never easy for Outlook users. A large PST file can create major problems such as decreased performance.

2. How do I compact a PST file without opening Outlook?

You can compact a PST file without Outlook, using a reliable third-party software. One of the tools you can use is PST Compress Software which will easily help you compress a post file without Outlook.

3. What does compacting a PST file do?

Compacting Outlook data files frees up space that was previously taken up by an email or folder. In addition to improving Outlook's performance, this can significantly reduce the amount of space that the OST or PST file takes up on your hard drive. 

Default image
Tony Landry

Tony Landry is a Web Content Editor at Remo Software. He loves to write, edit, and manage content for users trying to troubleshoot and fix problems on Windows, Outlook, storage drives and Cloud storage networks.

He has published more than 200 articles in Remo Software blog. He actively engages in research and problem-solving techniques to consistently generate great web content. Fixing various hardware problems on computer and storage devices along with a great knack for fixing Outlook errors, Tony is also the fun-time IT guy for all his work friends. He lives in the San Francisco Bay Area and enjoys cycling.

Articles: 197

Leave a Reply