Learn How to Activate or Deactivate Adobe Applications - Info | Remo Software

Learn How to Activate or Deactivate Adobe Applications

There are not many people who know, how to activate or deactivate Adobe applications. It is to a large extent beneficial when you know these things. Activation is connecting to a valid user license. Generally, the activation process is automatic when you ‘Sign in’. Although in some cases you have to do it manually before you use it. Also, a single license for Adobe software lets you install the application on two computers. Similarly, deactivation disconnects an application from a valid user license. With this little information, you are already deciding on which app you want to activate and deactivate from this software.

So, here is an article that gives you information on, how to activate and deactivate Adobe Applications.

Activate Adobe Applications

Below are the most commonly used apps, that you would want to know how to activate so, read on.

Creative Cloud, Acrobat DC

When you need to activate with Adobe, Creative Cloud, Acrobat Pro DC just ‘Sign in’ to activate your software. Launch the app and choose – Help > Sign in (your Adobe ID) or Sign in from the Creative Cloud desktop app.

Creative Suite 6 (CS6) and earlier

For CS6, type in your password in your Adobe ID to Sign in and activate your software. Do this within the first seven days of use.

The CS5.5, CS5, CS4, CS3 and earlier activation happens automatically. It happens the moment software detects an internet connection or the software prompts you to activate it during installation. To activate your software manually, follow the steps below:

  1. Make sure that your computer is connected to the Internet.
  2. Launch the application.
  3. Choose – Help > Activate (if the Option is dim then, you have already activated your software).
  4. Sign in with your Adobe ID and password to activate your software.

(If you don’t have an Adobe ID then, find the option to create one. Follow the onscreen instructions.)


cta button

Acrobat XI, X

Acrobat XI and X get activated automatically, the moment software detects the internet connection.

If you want to activate your software manually, you can always follow the same instructions given under Creative Suite 6 and earlier.

Deactivate Adobe Applications

You already know that deactivation disconnects an application from a valid user license. Once deactivated, you can reactivate it at any time you choose. You need not uninstall the application just because you are deactivating it. While deactivating the software, you don’t want to lose any of your psd file data. But, if you are not careful, there can be a possibility to lose it. If and ever that happens, you can read a detailed informative guide on a tool kit to repair psd files.

To know more on how to deactivate Adobe application continue to read further.

Deactivate Creative Cloud

You can deactivate a Creative Cloud app simply, by ‘Signing Out’. Launch any Creative Cloud app and choose – Help > Sign Out (your Adobe ID). You can also Sign out from Creative Cloud Desktop app. or deactivate the device from your Account Page on adobe.com.

Deactivate Acrobat DC

  • Subscription Version

When you have an Acrobat DC subscription, all you have to do is ‘Sign out’ to deactivate the app. Launch the app and choose – Help > Sign out (your Adobe ID). You can also Sign out by deactivating the device from your account page on Adobe.com

  • NonSubscription (standalone) Version

If you have a standalone, non-subscription version of Acrobat DC, simply Sign out of Acrobat to deactivate it. Launch the app and choose – Help > Sign Out (your Adobe ID).

Deactivate Acrobat XI/X, Creative Suite 6 and earlier

  1. Make sure that your computer is connected to the Internet.
  2. Launch the application
  3. Choose Help > Deactivate
  4. Choose one of the following options:

(i) Deactivate or Suspend Application: These options deactivate the software but retain licensing information on your computer. Choose any one of these options, if you want to deactivate the software temporarily. This works if you are planning to activate it again on this computer.

(ii) Deactivate permanently: This option deactivates the software and removes the licensing information from your computer. If you want to use the software again on the same computer then, re-enter the ‘Serial Number’.

Learn How to Activate or Deactivate Adobe Applications was last modified: July 5th, 2017 by John Harris

Customer Evangelist @remosoftware. Trying to perfect the art of writing while running a business. Fan of exceptional customer service.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*