了解如何找到并移动Outlook PST文件

毫无疑问,Microsoft Outlook是最好的电子邮件客户端,大多数使用Microsoft Exchange电子邮件服务器的企业默认选择此选项。多年来,Outlook取得了很大进展,并且可以与个人电子邮件帐户一起使用。它一直为IMPA和POP3帐户提供良好的支持,近年来,它在Outlook.com和Gmail等电子邮件服务方面做得非常好。它的日历和提醒服务非常好。我们不打扰大多数时间,除非有需要,我们的PST文件存储在那里。您必须将PST文件移动到另一个硬盘或要检查数据是否正在备份的情况。在本文中,您将学习如何查找和移动PST文件。

让我基本了解一下PST文件是什么?

在Outlook中设置的每个帐户都有自己的个人存储表 – PST文件形式的数据库。此处将存储您的所有电子邮件,联系人,日历项目和提醒。您还可以根据您的设置加密或压缩PST文件中的数据。当PST文件中存储的数据超过时,Outlook将减慢速度。为了帮助您解决此问题,Outlook有时会建议您存档旧电子邮件,以便Outlook文件夹中的旧项目较少。

与PST文件一起,有扩展名为.ost的文件,称为OST文件。 OST文件主要用于临时存储Exchange Server和Outlookhost和Gmail等虚拟主机的电子邮件。基本上,即使与电子邮件服务器断开连接,您也可以访问电子邮件。例如,没有互联网或再次重新连接电子邮件服务器时,Outlook将同步所有内容。

总而言之,如果您使用的是标准IMAP或POP3帐户,或者未配置Exchange帐户中的脱机存储,则您的数据将存储在PST文件中。 Outlook.com,Gmail等Webhost将存储在OST文件中。 Exchange帐户可能同时使用PST进行数据备份,使用OST进行脱机访问。

保存PST文件的位置?

根据您使用的Outlook版本,存储PST文件的位置会有所不同。默认情况下,在Outlook 2010和2007中,PST文件存储在APPData文件夹中,位于下面提到的路径中:

C:\用户\用户名\ AppData \本地\微软\展望

OST文件也存储在同一位置,与您使用的Outlook版本无关。

从Outlook 2013,PST文件存储在Document文件夹中。 Outlook 2013和2016的位置如下所述:

C:\用户\用户名\文件\ Outlook文件

可以在Outlook本身中搜索电子邮件帐户的PST文件的确切存储位置。在Outlook 2016,2013和2010中,单击“文件”选项卡,从“帐户设置”的下拉菜单中选择“帐户设置”。对于Outlook 2007,请转到“工具”,然后单击“帐户设置”。

在“帐户设置”窗口打开后,单击“数据文件”选项卡并选择所需的电子邮件帐户,然后单击“打开文件位置”。将打开文件资源管理器窗口,显示PST文件或OST文件的位置(如果这是您选择的帐户)。

如何移PST文件?

如果您想将PST文件移动到方便您的其他位置,或者您希望将它们放在另一个硬盘驱动器中,那么您可以做很多事情。 但是,只能使用文件资源管理器将它们移动到其他位置。 如果这样做,您可能无法访问某些数据。 在默认位置,Outlook将创建一个新的PST文件。 若要将Outlook数据文件移动到新位置而不会失去访问权限,您必须使用Windows注册表。

警告!

使用Windows注册表时,必须非常小心。 如果误用,它将使您的计算机无法运行。 如果您仔细按照说明操作,应该没有任何问题。 因此,在开始使用Windows注册表之前,请确保完成有关如何使用它的说明。 如果您的Outlook有任何问题,您可以使用 用于修复Outlook PST文件的软件. 为避免任何问题,请同时备份您的计算机和注册表。

首先,如果它正在运行,请关闭Outlook,否则请确保它未打开。 然后,点击开始按钮并输入’regedit’并按Enter键。 这将打开注册表编辑器并同意对计算机进行更改。 根据您使用的Outlook版本导航到下面提到的密钥之一。

Outlook 2007: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Outlook\

Outlook 2010: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\14.0\Outlook\

Outlook 2013: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\Outlook\

Outlook 2016: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Outlook\

选择后,您必须为Outlook键输入新值。 右键单击Outlook按钮,然后选择“新建>可扩展字符串值”并将其命名为“ForcePSTPath”。 如果您使用的是OST文件,请将其命名为“ForceOSTPath”。

现在,双击’ForcePSTPath’或’ForceOSTPath’来访问属性窗口。 然后,在“数值数据”框中键入新位置(要存储数据文件的位置),完成后单击“确定”。 退出注册表编辑器。 将在新位置创建新的PST / OST文件。 使用“文件编辑器”将Outlook PST文件拖到新位置。 重新打开它时,Outlook应该可以正常工作。

 

了解如何找到并移动Outlook PST文件 was last modified: December 6th, 2019 by Remo Software

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Learn How To Locate And Move Your Outlook PST File - Info | Remo Software

Learn How To Locate And Move Your Outlook PST File

Microsoft Outlook without any doubt is the best e-mail clients and most of the businesses who uses Microsoft Exchange e-mail server opt for this by default. Over the years Outlook has progressed a lot and can be used with personal email account as well. It has been providing good support for IMPA and POP3 accounts and in the recent years, it is doing really well with e-mail services like Outlook.com and Gmail. Its Calendar and Reminder services are incorporated very well. We don’t bother most of the time, where our PST files are stored unless there is a need. Situations wherein you have to move your PST files to another hard disk or when you want to check if your data is being backed up or not. In this article, you’ll learn how to locate and move your PST file.

Let me give you a basic understanding on what a PST file is?

Each account that is set up in Outlook has its own database in the form of personal storage table – PST file. Here all your e-mails, contacts, calendar items, and reminders will be stored. You can also encrypt or compress the data in your PST file based on your settings. When the data stored in your PST file exceeds, the Outlook will slow down. To help you out with this problem, sometimes Outlook will suggest to archive your old e-mails so that there are less old items in your Outlook folder.

Along with PST file, there are files with .ost extension and is called OST file. OST file is basically used to temporarily store e-mails offline for the Exchange Servers and webhosts like Outlook.com and Gmail. Basically this is for you to access e-mails even when is a disconnection from the e-mail server. Like for example, there is no internet or when the e-mail server is reconnected again, the Outlook will sync up everything.

Summing up, if you are using standard IMAP or POP3 account or when offline storage in an Exchange account is not configured then, your data is stored in a PST file. Webhost like Outlook.com, Gmail and others will be stored on OST File. Exchange accounts might use both PST for data back-up and OST to access offline.

Where A PST File Is Saved?

Depending on what version of Outlook you use, the location to store PST file varies. In Outlook 2010 and 2007 by default, PST files are stored in APPData folder, at the path mentioned below:

C:\users\username\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook

OST files are also stored in the same location irrespective of what Outlook version you are using.

From Outlook 2013, the PST files are stored in the Document folder. The location of the Outlook 2013 and 2016 are as mentioned below:

C:\users\username\Documents\Outlook Files

The exact stored location of a PST file for an e-mail account can be searched within Outlook itself. In Outlook 2016, 2013 and 2010, click File tab, select the Account Settings from the drop-down menu of Account Settings. For Outlook 2007, go to Tools and click Account Settings.

One the Account Settings window opens, click Data File tab and choose desired e-mail account and click the Open File Location. The File Explorer window will open up showing you the location of the PST file or OST file, if that’s the account you have selected.

How To Move PST File?

If you want to move the PST files to a different location convenient to you, or you want to place them in another hard drive, well, you can very much do it. But, you cannot move them to a different location just by using File Explorer. If you do so, there are chances that you may not be able to access to some of the data. And in the default location, a new PST file will be created by the Outlook. To move the Outlook data file to a new location without losing access, you’ll have to make use Windows Registry.

Caution!

While using Windows Registry, one has to be very careful. If misused, it will make your computer inoperable. If you follow the instructions carefully, there shouldn’t be any problem. So, before you start using Windows Registry, make sure you go through the instructions on how to use it. If there is any problem with your Outlook, you can use software to fix Outlook PST file. To avoid any issues, do backup your computer and Registry as well.

First, close Outlook if it is running, else make sure it is not open. Then, hit start button and type ‘regedit’ and press Enter. This will open the Registry Editor and agree to make changes to the computer. Navigate to one of the below-mentioned key based on the Outlook version you are using.

Outlook 2007: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Outlook\

Outlook 2010: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\14.0\Outlook\

Outlook 2013: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\Outlook\

Outlook 2016: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Outlook\

After selecting, you have to enter a new value to the Outlook Key. Right click Outlook button, and select ‘New > Expandable String Value’ and name it as “ForcePSTPath”. If you are using OST file, name it as “ForceOSTPath”.

Now, double click on the ‘ForcePSTPath’ or ‘ForceOSTPath’ to access the properties window. Then, type the new location (where you want to store the data file) into the Value Data box and click OK once done. Exit from the Registry Editor. A new PST/OST file will be created in the new location. Drag the Outlook PST file to the new location using File Editor. Your Outlook should work fine when you re-open it.

Learn How To Locate And Move Your Outlook PST File was last modified: April 12th, 2017 by John Harris

Customer Evangelist @remosoftware. Trying to perfect the art of writing while running a business. Fan of exceptional customer service.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*