为什么将照片存储在DCIM文件夹中?

每次单击图片时,所有拍摄的图像都会存储在DCIM文件夹中。 无论是数码相机还是Android或iPhone的相机应用,拍摄的照片并存储在SD卡中。 每个数码相机,无论其品牌如何,都使用DCIM文件夹存储照片。 甚至您用来编辑和共享在智能手机上单击的照片的应用程序也使用同一文件夹来保存照片。 您现在必须怀疑为什么这个DCIM文件夹如此重要,以及为什么每张照片都存储在DCIM文件夹中。 继续阅读以了解原因。

DCIM代表什么?

DCIM代表数码相机图像。 它是首选的标准名称,因为名为Photos或Images的文件夹会更简单,也很容易发现。 但是,选择DCIM文件夹是有原因的。

为什么照片保留在DCIM文件夹中?

用于在数码相机中存储照片的名称DCIM是DCF(相机文件系统设计规则)规范的一部分。 这已被所有数码相机制造商采用,并已成为行业标准。 由于DCF规范很常见,因此相机和智能手机制造商(包括应用程序和软件开发人员)都遵循这种DCIM存储习惯。

假设每个数码相机制造商或电话操作系统都有其自己的图片文件夹,则软件程序将无法在连接的设备上自动查找图像。 另外,您将无法从一台数码相机中取出SD卡并将其直接插入另一台数码相机中。 即使在不重新格式化设备或重新排列文件系统的情况下访问照片也将是不可能的。

注意: 如果您删除了DCIM文件夹或丢失了其中的照片,则可以轻松地将它们找回。 按照链接 恢复已删除的DCIM文件 从您的相机或智能手机

DCF不仅规定了要写入照片的文件夹,而且还有很多其他用途。 DCF规范还说,SD卡在格式化时必须使用特定的文件系统。 它还说用于保存图像的子目录和文件名遵循特定的模式。 因此,与每个制造商提出自己的默认存储文件夹规则相比,所有这些使在其他设备上处理图片变得更加容易。

因此,标准化的DCIM格式意味着相机的照片传输软件可以在将SD卡或数码相机连接到计算机时自动识别它们。 同样的事情也适用于智能手机上的DCIM文件夹。

如何访问DCIM文件夹?

为了访问DCIM文件夹,请将相机或智能手机连接到计算机。 连接设备时,相机/智能手机上会显示不同的连接模式。 从相机/智能手机上显示的选项中选择PTP模式。 PTP是用于与数码相机通信的标准协议。 现在,在计算机上打开 “文件资源管理器” ,并在左栏中查找带有照相机图标的驱动器。 打开相机驱动器后,您将找到DCIM文件夹。

如果找不到DCIM文件夹怎么办?

如果找不到DCIM文件夹,则该文件夹可能被隐藏了。 如果是这样的话,你可能要 取消隐藏文件夹 访问它。

尽管取消隐藏,但如果仍然找不到该文件夹,则DCIM文件夹可能会丢失。 在这种情况下,您可以 从SD卡中恢复已删除的DCIM文件夹 和 值得信赖的数据恢复软件的帮助。

相关信息: 与DCIM文件夹类似,如果您无法找到和 从相机胶卷中检索照片 文件夹。 单击给定的链接以了解更多信息。

如果您认为此信息有用,或者仍然对该主题有疑问或疑问,请在下面的评论部分中告诉我们。

为什么将照片存储在DCIM文件夹中? was last modified: 5月 10th, 2021 by Remo Software

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

*

Why do Photos get Stored in DCIM Folder?

Every time you click a picture, all the images you have taken are stored in a DCIM folder. Whether it’s a digital camera or the camera app for Android or iPhone, the photos taken and stored on an SD card. Every digital camera regardless of its brand uses the DCIM folder to store the photos. Even the apps you use to edit and share photos clicked on your smartphone uses the same folder to save the photos. You must now be wondering why this DCIM folder is so important and why every photos are stored in DCIM folder. Read on to know why.

What Does DCIM stand for?

DCIM stands for Digital Camera Images. It is the preferred standard name, since a folder named Photos or Images would be simpler, and also easy to spot. However, there is a reason behind the choice for a DCIM folder.

Why are Photos Kept in DCIM Folder?

The name DCIM which is given for storing photos in digital cameras is part of the DCF (Design Rule for Camera File System) specifications. This has been adopted by all the digital camera makers and has become an industry standard. As the DCF specification is common, camera and smartphone makers, including app and software developers, stick to this DCIM storage habit.

Suppose every digital camera maker or phone’s operating system had its own pictures folder, the software programs will not be able to find images automatically on a connected device. Also, you won’t be able to take an SD card from one digital camera and plug it into another one directly. Even accessing the photos without reformatting the device or rearranging the file system would not have been possible.

Note: If you have deleted the DICM folder or lost the photos from it, you can get them back easily. Follow the link to recover deleted DCIM folder from your camera or smartphone

DCF not only dictates the folder to which photos are written, but it does much more. DCF spec also says SD cards that a specific file system must be used when formatted. It also says subdirectories and file names used for saved images to follow a specific pattern. So all these make working with pictures on other devices easier when compared to each manufacturer coming up with their own rules for default storage folder.

Thus, the standardized DCIM format means camera photo-transfer software can automatically identify pictures on an SD card or digital camera when you connect it to the computer. The same thing holds good for the DCIM folder on smartphones too.

How do I Access the DICM folder?

In order to access the DCIM folder connect your camera or smartphone to the computer. When you connect the device, you will be presented with different connection modes on the camera/smartphones. Choose the PTP mode from the options displayed on your camera/smartphones. PTP is a standard protocol for communicating with the digital camera. Now, open File Explorer on the computer and look for the drive with a camera icon on the left column. Once you open the camera drive, you will find the DCIM folder.

What if I Don’t Find the DCIM Folder?

If you don’t find the DCIM folder, it could be possible that the folder is hidden. If that’s the case, you might have to unhide the folder to access it.

Despite unhiding, if you are still unable to find the folder, chances are that the DCIM folder could be lost. In which case you can recover the deleted DCIM folder from SD card with the help of a trusted data recovery software.

Related information: Like the DCIM folder, if you are unable to find and retrieve photos from the Camera Roll folder. Click on the given link to know more.

If you found this information useful or still have doubts or questions regarding the topic, kindly let us know in the comment section below.

Why do Photos get Stored in DCIM Folder? was last modified: November 2nd, 2020 by John Harris

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*