技术指南:RAID 0, 1, 3 & 5

RAID是独立磁盘的冗余阵列。 目的是增强性能并增加数据冗余。 它也被称为廉价磁盘冗余阵列。 它通常被称为RAID阵列,但名称中已包含一个数组。

它是一种虚拟数据存储技术,它使用多个物理数据存储单元来形成单个虚拟存储。 RAID正在组合许多物理存储以创建逻辑存储。

为什么我们需要RAID

过去几年,RAID技术已经发生了许多转变,改进和增强。 从引入RAID开始,RAID领域就有了一些非常有趣的概念改进。 驱动器锁定在一起有多个级别的RAID。 它们被称为各自的级别,这些级别用数字表示。

引入RAID为了帮助信息世界,争取越来越多的空间。 当磁盘不那么宽敞且成本高昂时,RAID术成为满足快速操作和容错需求的难以置信的措施。

这是否意味着RAID,通常称为RAID阵列等于数据备份? 答案是直接拒绝。 RAID并不代表任何类型的数据备份,它与此不同。

RAID不会为您提供防止因病毒,恶意软件,数据窃取,数据损坏或任何自然故障而导致数据丢失的保护。 所以它与备份数据没有任何关系。 但它确实可以防止硬件故障。 RAID只是衡量故障保护的一种方法。 在这种情况下,硬件可能会失败,但阵列保持不变,从而保护您的信息。

某些级别的RAID用相应的数字表示,让我们来看看这些RAID级别;

RAID 0

技术指南RAID阵列

Raid 0用于在驱动器之间分配数据。 这允许更高的读写速度。 0表示读写操作的较高速度。 单独的块将数据移动到多个驱动器以提高操作速度。 这被称为条纹。

但是,有一个非常重要的因素应该牢记在心。 RAID 0不提供任何防止驱动器故障的保护。 因此,在驱动器发生故障时,计算机会丢失大量数据。 如果您使用外部驱动器或备用驱动器进行RAID 0,则可能会丢失重要数据。 因此,当外部硬盘驱动器变得无法访问时,可以获得一种方法 不可读的驱动器数据恢复软件 已经失去了。

以下列出了RAID 0的一些功能;

  • 它至少需要2个磁盘。
  • 没有数据冗余,因为没有涉及奇偶校验或镜像。
  • 避免将其用于关键或敏感系统。
  • 由于条纹块,它提供了出色的性能。

RAID 1

Raid 1涉及在操作期间读取和写入数据的成对驱动器。 此方法也称为镜像。 所涉及的驱动器在每次操作期间是平行的并且平等地参与。 在驱动器发生故障的情况下,可以在更换损坏的驱动器时使用并联驱动器。

实现RAID并为驱动器故障创建安全措施是最简单和最简单的方法。 RAID也是最方便的故障保护方式之一,它占用了实现总空间的一半。 您可以根据需要拥有多对RAID驱动器。 它们将有助于保护您的数据。

RAID 1的一些功能可以作为;

  • 它至少需要2个磁盘
  • 它提供了良好的性能。
  • 没有涉及奇偶校验,也没有完成条带化。
  • 镜像驱动器时具有很高的冗余度。

RAID 3

技术指南RAID阵列

这是RAID技术的进步之一,可以实现磁盘驱动器的高性能。 RAID 3不使用数据块,而是使用单独的驱动器来存储奇偶校验信息。 RAID 3具有用于数据的专用驱动器,并使用块上的条带化和用于存储奇偶校验的专用驱动器。 这提高了可靠性。

RAID 3的一些功能是;

  • 使用多个磁盘存储数据,使用单独的磁盘存储奇偶校验。
  • 由于顺序读写技术,性能良好。
  • 它使用逐字节条带化,这有助于提高性能。

RAID 5

此模式提供数据冗余和性能。 RAID 5涉及使用三个磁盘执行,并使用三分之一的空间来存储奇偶校验信息。 在RAID 5中,它使用阵列在所有驱动器中使用奇偶校验数据分布读取数据并在多个磁盘上写入。

“奇偶校验数据是一小部分数学导出的数据,代表了大量的数据,它具有恢复大数据的能力。”

RAID 5的一些重要方面可以作为;

  • 对于RAID 5操作模式,它至少需要三个磁盘。
  • 由于条纹化,它可以提供良好的性能。
  • 由于分布式奇偶校验,数据冗余非常出色。
  • 降低了提供高性能和数据冗余的成本

还有其他一些可用的技术,如RAID 4,RAID 1 + 0,RAID 2,RAID 6等。因此,RAID技术的发展是提高性能的最佳举措之一。 这是确保数据冗余的最佳方法之一。

 

技术指南:RAID 0, 1, 3 & 5 was last modified: December 9th, 2019 by Remo Software

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Tech guide to use and implementation of RAID array

Tech Guide: RAID 0, 1, 3 & 5

RAID is Redundant Array of Independent Disks. The purpose is to enhance performance and increase data redundancy.  It is also termed as Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks. It is generally addressed as RAID array, although, an array is already included in the name.

It is a virtual data storage technology that uses multiple physical data storage units to form single virtual storage. RAID is combining a number of physical storages to create a logical storage.

Why do we need RAID?

The RAID technology has seen many transformations, improvements, and enhancements over past years. There are some very interesting conceptual improvements in the field of RAID from the time it was introduced. There are several levels of RAID by which the drives are locked together. They are termed with respective levels, these levels are denoted by numbers.

RAID was introduced as an aid to the information world, striving for more and more space. When the disks where less spacious and very costly, RAID technology came as an incredible measure to fulfill the needs of fast operation and fault tolerance.

So does it mean that RAID, commonly known as RAID array is equal to data backup? The answer would be a straight denial. RAID does not signify any kind of data backup, it’s way different than that.

RAID does not give you protection against data loss due to a virus, malware, data theft, data corruption or any natural fault. So it does not have anything to do with backing up data. But it certainly provides safety against hardware failure. RAID is simply a measure of failure protection. In such cases, the hardware may fail, but the array remains intact and thus protecting your information.

There are certain levels of RAID denoted with respective numbers, let’s have a look at these RAID levels;

RAID 0

RAID 0

Raid 0 is devised to distribute the data across the drives. This allows higher read and write speed. 0 denotes the higher speed of read and write operation. The separate blocks move the data across multiple drives to enhance operating speed. This is termed as striped.

Though, there is one very important factor which should be kept in mind. RAID 0 does not offer any protection against drive failure. So at a time of drive failure, it leaves the computer with a lot of lost data. In a case when you are using an external drive or an alternate drive for RAID 0, you can lose a significant data. So when an external hard drive turns unreadable use software to recover data that has been lost.

Here are some of the features of RAID 0 listed;

  • It requires a minimum of 2 disks.
  • Has no data redundancy as there is no parity or mirroring involved.
  • Avoid using this for critical or sensitive systems.
  • It provides an excellent performance due to the striped blocks.

RAID 1

Raid 1 involves pairs of drives to read and write data during operation. This method is also called as mirroring. The drives involved, are parallel during every operation and participate equally. In the case of drive failure, the parallel drive can be used at the time of replacement of the damaged drive.

It is the easiest and simplest to implement RAID and create a security measure for drive failure. RAID is also one of the most convenient ways for failure protection and it takes a half of the total space on implementation. You can have as many pairs of RAID drives as you want. They will be helpful for securing your data.

RAID 1

Some of the features of RAID 1 can be enlisted as;

  • It requires a minimum of 2 disks
  • It delivers a good performance.
  • There is no parity involved and no striping done.
  • Great level of redundancy as the drives is mirrored.

RAID 3

Technical guide to RAID

This is one of the advancements in RAID technique which results in the high performance of disk drives. RAID 3 doesn’t use data blocks, instead, it uses a separate drive to store the parity information. RAID 3 has dedicated drives for data and uses striping across the blocks and a dedicated drive for storing parity. This increases the reliability.

Some of the features of RAID 3 are;

  • Uses multiple disks for data and a separate disk to store parity.
  • A good performance due to sequential read and writes technique.
  • It uses a byte by byte striping, this helps in increasing the performance.

RAID 5

This mode offers both data redundancy and performance. RAID 5 involves the use of three disks for execution and uses a one-third space for parity information. In RAID 5, it reads data and  writes across multiple disks using parity data distribution in all the drives using an array.

RAID array- RAID 5

“A parity data is a small amount of mathematically derived data that represents the larger amount of data, it has the ability to restore the large data.

Some of the important aspects of RAID 5 can be enlisted as;

  • It requires a minimum of three disks for the RAID 5 mode of operation.
  • It delivers a good performance due to striping.
  • Due to distributed parity, the data redundancy is outstanding.
  • Reduced cost for provision of high performance and data redundancy

There are some other techniques available and are under practice like RAID 4, RAID 1+0, RAID 2, RAID 6. Thus the evolution of RAID technology is one of the best moves towards enhancing performance. It is one of the best ways to ensure data redundancy.

Tech Guide: RAID 0, 1, 3 & 5 was last modified: December 7th, 2016 by John Harris

Customer Evangelist @remosoftware. Trying to perfect the art of writing while running a business. Fan of exceptional customer service.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*