數據恢復軟件

數據恢復軟件

銷書

硬盤恢復軟件

多合一數據恢復工具

格式化或分區錯誤後恢復數據。

$109.97

$99.97

立即購買

文件修復工具

文件修復工具

銷書

MOV 修復工具

完整的視頻修復工具包

修復您無法播放影片(MOV和MP4)安全.

$79.97

$69.97

立即購買

Outlook工具

Outlook工具

銷書

Outlook 備份和遷移

終極 Outlook 備份工具

安全的方式來備份和移動電子郵件和聯繫人

$59.97

$49.97

立即購買

Remo ONE

Remo ONE

其他實用程序

其他實用程序

銷書

重複的照片卸妝

高級 重複的照片查找器和清潔工具

查找和刪除重複的照片並增加3 - 點擊的磁盤空間!

$29.97

$19.97

立即購買

中文

为什么 Exchange Server 中的 MAPI 过度 HTTP 优于 RPC 过度 HTTP?

任何网络上的通信都需要一个协议,因为它可以确保正确接收和发送信息。早期的 Microsoft Outlook 曾经使用 RPC(远程过程调用)协议连接到 Exchange 服务器。 RPC 是一种请求-响应协议。该协议非常适用于本地和内部环境,在这些环境中,连接性良好且不存在安全威胁。

但是,随着时间的推移,用户不得不在办公室外工作,或者可能在家中工作。在家工作时,用户可能会在较慢的公共 Wi-Fi 或更慢的移动数据连接上工作,而真正的困难由此开始。与 RPC 协议一样,很难将 RPC 连接保持到隐藏在防火墙层后面的本地 Exchange 服务器。

这就是为什么后来微软提出了 Outlook Anywhere (OA) 的想法。它使用了一种高级架构,其中所有 RPC 调用都封装在 HTTP 中,并通过 SSL 传输以实现安全和加密的通信。

最后,从 Outlook 2016 及更高版本开始,Microsoft 开始使用 MAPI over HTTP。它通过直接在 HTTP 流中嵌入 MAPI 命令来使用 HTTP 进行传输。它不使用 SSL,而是使用 TLS 来提供加密。因此,您可以说 MAPI over HTTP 与 RPC over HTTP 没有什么不同。但是,与 Outlook Anywhere 相比,这种新连接有几个优点。继续阅读以了解有关 MAPI over HTTP 及其优势的更多信息。

什么是 MAPI?

MAPI 代表消息应用程序编程接口。 它只是程序调用消息服务器上的函数的一种方式或渠道。

MAPI 用于什么?

MAPI 是微软用来连接 Outlook 和 Exchange 服务器的消息传递系统,用于发送和接收电子邮件、联系人、设置约会、管理任务、便签等。 MAPI 与微软早期的技术 Outlook Anywhere 非常相似。 它使用基于 RPC 的通信与基于 MAPI 的邮件服务器(如 Exchange)进行通信。

为什么 Outlook 使用 MAPI 过度 HTTP?

当您通过 HTTP 使用 MAPI 时,它消除了使用两个长期 TCP 连接的要求。 相反,MAPI 使用一个长期连接和一个短期连接。 这简化了流程并提供更有效的网络使用和电子邮件性能。

此外,还有一个好处是,即使在通过 HTTP 切换到 MAPI 之后,也不会让您只对 Outlook 使用此协议来访问 Exchange。 尚未使用 MAPI over HTTP 的 Outlook 客户端仍可以使用 Outlook Anywhere(RPC over HTTP)通过启用 MAPI 的客户端访问服务器访问 Exchange。

如何检查 MAPI 过度HTTP 是否启用?

无论何时安装 Outlook 2016、2019 或 Microsoft 365, 认情况下在组织级别启用 MAPI over HTTP, 尽管您仍然需要配置虚拟目录。

如何通过 HTTP 连接测试 MAPI?

您可以使用 Test-OutlookConnectivity cmdlettest 测试端到端 MAPI over HTTP 连接。 但是,您需要启用 Microsoft Exchange Health Manager (MSExchangeHM) 服务才能使用 Test-OutlookConnectivity cmdlet。

MAPI 相对于 HTTP 的优势

  • MAPI over HTTP 使用比 RPC 更有效的方式与 Exchange 邮箱交互。即使您查看架构,MAPI 和 RPC 都封装在 HTTP 中。尽管如此,当用户使用 MAPI over HTTP 而不是 Outlook 任何地方时,他们可以在网络中断后更快地重新连接到 Exchange 服务器。如果计算机从睡眠或休眠状态中恢复过来,MAPI 的重新连接也会更快。
  • 从一个网络切换到另一个网络时,这是一种更安全的选择。例如,如果您想从办公室网络切换到您的个人蜂窝网络。
  • 服务器会在很长一段时间内维护您切换网络之前正在进行的会话。
  • 当您不使用办公室网络时,MAPI over HTTP 是一种更安全可靠的协议,供 Outlook 客户端连接到 Exchange Server 2019。
  • Outlook 切换到 MAPI/HTTP 的唯一目标是通过提供更快的 Exchange 连接时间跨所有类型的连接以更快的速度传递电子邮件来提供更好的用户体验。
  • 通过将传输层移动到行业标准 HTTP 模型,提高 Outlook 和 Exchange 连接的可靠性和稳定性。这使得传输错误更容易检测,从而增强了可恢复性。

注意: 如果您面临任何 MAPI 相关错误 参考这篇文章。

结论

MAPI 不是协议,而是 API。 协议意味着“线上的位”,而 API 是编程接口。

尽管早期版本的 Outlook 依赖于 RPC,但它为应用程序开发人员带来了显着的优势。 但是,由于 RPS 是 MAPI 接管的旧机制。 RPC 的局限性在于它实际上是为跨 LAN 而不是跨 Web 开发的。

MAPI over HTTP 支持通过 HTTP 连接在 Messaging API (MAPI) 客户端和服务器之间进行通信,而无需使用远程过程调用 (RPC) 。

但是,即使 Outlook 如此先进,您仍然可能会在 Outlook 中遇到 MAPI 错误。 在这种情况下,您需要使用专业工具,例如 Remo PST 修复 修复 Outlook 2010、2016、2019 等所有这些 MAPI 错误的工具。该工具可以通过扫描损坏的 Outlook 数据文件,然后从丢失的重要数据中提取,轻松修复 Outlook PST 文件中的任何损坏或错误。

默认图片
Remo Software
文章: 836

留下评论

Why Is MAPI over HTTP in Exchange Server Better Than RPC over HTTP?

Communication over any network requires a protocol as it makes sure that the information is being received and sent properly. Earlier Microsoft Outlook used to use the RPC (Remote Procedure Call) protocol to connect to the Exchange server. RPC is a request-response protocol. This protocol worked great for local and internal environments, where connectivity is good and there is no threat to security. 

However, users had to work from outside of the office or maybe from home as time passed. When working from home, there are chances that users will work over a slow public Wi-Fi or an even slower mobile data connection, where the real struggles start. As with RPC protocol, it is difficult to keep the RPC connection to an on-premise Exchange server, hidden behind layers of firewalls.

This is why later Microsoft came up with the idea of Outlook Anywhere (OA). It used an advanced architecture where all the RPC calls are encapsulated within HTTP and are transported over an SSL for secure and encrypted communication. 

Finally, from Outlook 2016 and the later versions, Microsoft started using MAPI over HTTP. It uses HTTP for the transport by embedding MAPI commands directly in the HTTP stream. Instead of SSL, it uses TLS to provide encryption. Hence, you can say that MAPI over HTTP is not that different from RPC over HTTP. However, there are several advantages to this new connection over Outlook Anywhere. Read along to know more about MAPI over HTTP and its benefits. 

What is MAPI?

MAPI stands for Messaging Application Programming Interface. It is just a way or channel for a program to call functions on a messaging server. 

What is MAPI used for?

MAPI is a messaging system that is used by Microsoft to connect Outlook and Exchange servers for sending and receiving emails, contacts, setting appointments, managing tasks, sticky notes, etc. MAPI is quite similar to Microsoft’s earlier technology Outlook Anywhere. It uses RPC-based communication to communicate with a MAPI-based mail server like Exchange.   

Why is Outlook Using MAPI over HTTP?

When you are using MAPI over HTTP, it eliminates the requirement to use two long-term TCP connections. Instead, MAPI uses one long-term connection and one short-term connection. This simplifies the process and provides more effective network use and email performance.  

Moreover, one more perk is that even after switching over to MAPI over HTTP it does not make you liable to use this protocol only for Outlook to access Exchange. Outlook clients who are not yet using MAPI over HTTP can still use Outlook Anywhere (RPC over HTTP) to access Exchange through a MAPI-enabled Client Access server.    

How To Check If MAPI over HTTP Enabled?

Whenever you install Outlook 2016, 2019, or Microsoft 365, MAPI over HTTP is enabled by default at the organization level, although you still need to configure the virtual directories.

How To Test MAPI over HTTP Connections?

You can use the Test-OutlookConnectivity cmdlettest to test the end-to-end MAPI over HTTP connection. However, you need to enable the Microsoft Exchange Health Manager (MSExchangeHM) service to use the Test-OutlookConnectivity cmdlet.

Advantages of MAPI over HTTP

  • MAPI over HTTP uses a more efficient way to interact with Exchange mailboxes than RPC. Even though if you look at the architecture both MAPI and RPC are encapsulated within HTTP. Still, users can reconnect to the Exchange server more quickly after the network is disrupted when they are using MAPI over HTTP instead of Outlook Anywhere. The reconnection also works faster for MAPI if the computer is coming out of sleep or hibernation.
  • It is a more secure option when it comes to switching from one network to another. For example, if you want to switch from the office network to your personal cellular network. 
  • The server maintains the session that was going on before you switched the network for a considerable period of time.
  • When you are not using the in-office network, MAPI over HTTP is a more secure and reliable protocol for Outlook clients to connect to the Exchange Server 2019.
  • The sole goal of Outlook to switch over to MAPI/HTTP is to provide a better user experience by delivering the emails at a much faster rate, across all types of connections by providing faster connection times to Exchange. 
  • Greater reliability and stability of the Outlook and Exchange connections by moving the transport layer to the industry-standard HTTP model. This makes the transport errors easier to detect and thus, enhances the recoverability. 

Note: In case you are facing any MAPI related error refer to this article. 

CONCLUSION

MAPI is not a protocol, it is an API. A protocol means "bits on the wire" whereas an API is a programmatic interface.

Though earlier versions of Outlook relied on RPC and it delivered significant advantages to application developers. However, because RPS is an older mechanism MAPI took over. RPC’s limitation was that it was actually developed to work across LANs rather than across the Web. 

MAPI over HTTP enabled the communication between Messaging API (MAPI) clients and servers across an HTTP connection without using remote procedure calls (RPCs).

However, even after Outlook is so advanced you can still face MAPI errors in Outlook. In such scenarios, you need to use a professional tool like Remo PST Repair Tool to fix all these MAPI errors on your Outlook 2010, 2016, 2019, etc. This tool can easily fix any corruption or error in the Outlook PST file by scanning your corrupt Outlook data file and then extracting the important data from being lost. 

Why Is MAPI over HTTP in Exchange Server Better Than RPC over HTTP? was last modified: August 13th, 2021 by Tony Landry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*