修复Mac上不显示外部硬盘驱动器的问题 完整的教程

外部硬盘驱动器不仅对其数据存储功能至关重要,而且对其可移植性功能也很重要。 每当您将外部硬盘驱动器或USB连接到Mac计算机时,它不仅会显示在桌面上,还会显示在位置或设备下左侧的Finder菜单中。

如果您发现Mac上未显示外部硬盘驱动器,则可能是由于各种原因造成的,例如外部硬盘驱动器或USB损坏,USB连接器有故障,驱动器隐藏,驱动器受到物理损坏,格式化不正确, 等等

不管Mac上没有出现外部硬盘驱动器问题的原因,通过遵循下面提供的可靠方法,您可以轻松进行修复。

如何修复Mac上未显示的外部硬盘驱动器?

这是有关Mac无法识别外部硬盘驱动器的处理方法的完整指南。 并了解如何使用Remo Recover工具从Mac上未显示的外部硬盘驱动器安全地恢复数据。

  1. 修復與外部硬盤驅動器和USB電纜連接有關的問題.
  2. 修復與Mac無法識別外部硬盤相關的邏輯問題.
  3. 運行急救實用程序來修復無法識別或損壞的外部硬盤驅動器.
  4. 不格式化驅動器就無法從Mac上顯示的外部硬盤驅動器恢復數據.
  5. 格式化外部硬盤驅動器無法在Mac上安全顯示.

修復與外部硬盤驅動器和USB電纜連接有關的問題

方法1:正确连接外部硬盘驱动器

在Mac上未显示外部硬盘驱动器后,首先要做的第一件事是检查外部硬盘是否已正确连接到Mac。 一旦确定外部硬盘驱动器已正确连接到Mac,则Mac即可轻松识别外部硬盘驱动器及其上显示的数据,或者继续进行下一种方法。

方法2:解决USB电缆的问题

将无法识别的外部硬盘驱动器插入Mac系统的其他USB端口,以检查是否有硬件问题。看起来好像在玩耍,但是将外部硬盘插入其他USB端口可以帮助您了解问题是与硬盘驱动器故障还是USB电缆有关。

如果将您的外部硬盘驱动器连接到Mac的USB电缆或HDMI电缆出现问题,则显然不会出现外部硬盘驱动器。如果您的MacBook(例如MacBook Pro或MacBook Air)具有USB-C或Thunderbolt 3端口,则需要使用USB-C到USB适配器将外部硬盘驱动器连接到Mac。

修复损坏的USB电缆成为将外部硬盘连接到Mac系统的首要任务。您可以通过使用其他USB电缆将外部硬盘驱动器与Mac计算机连接来轻松解决问题。

如果您仍然发现尽管使用不同的USB电缆,外部硬盘驱动器仍未在Mac上显示,则可以通过更改Mac上的首选项设置来解决。

但是,在继续执行下一种方法之前,请尝试重新启动Mac计算机一次。

修復與Mac無法識別外部硬盤相關的邏輯問題

方法3:重置Mac计算机

重置Mac计算机可以将一些系统设置重新启动为其默认值,并确保已解决所有与其相关的问题。 要重新启动Mac计算机,

转到 Apple 菜单,然后单击 Restart. (或)按住 power 键直到出现对话框并点击 Restart 或按 键。

方法4:更改显示首选项设置,以使外部硬盘驱动器在Finder上可

Mac无法识别您的外部硬盘驱动器的原因之一是由于“显示首选项”设置。 如果您不允许Mac在首选项设置中找到外部硬盘,则Mac计算机将不会在桌面上显示外部硬盘。 要允许Mac显示外部硬盘驱动器,请按照以下步骤编辑首选项设置;

  • 打开一个Finder 窗口。
  • Preference 然后选择 General.

  • “Show these items on the desktop”, 检查External disks 选项。

Change Show Preference Settings to Make external hard drive visible on Finder

如果已经进行了上述更改,或者已经设置了此设置,或者您的外部硬盘驱动器仍未在Mac桌面上显示,那么建议您这样做。

在大多数情况下,上述提示将帮助您解决Mac桌面或Finder菜单上未显示的外部硬盘驱动器问题。 尽管在Mac上未显示外部硬盘驱动器的情况下执行了上述步骤,请继续阅读下一节。

方法5:使用其他Mac计算机

如果仍然发现Mac无法识别硬盘驱动器,请尝试将外部硬盘连接到其他Mac系统,有时Mac计算机本身可能存在问题。

運行急救實用程序來修復無法識別或損壞的外部硬盤驅動器

方法6:使用盘工具修复Mac上未显示的外部硬盘驱动器

(建议仅在执行上述方法之后,才执行此方法以运行急救实用程序来修复外部硬盘。)

利用磁盘工具功能检查外部硬盘驱动器是否正在显示,并修复Mac上一些常见的USB或外部硬盘驱动器错误。

  • 导航Go Utilities Applications Disk UtilityDisk utility to repair external hard drive not showing up on Mac
  • 如果你的external hard drive 出现在磁盘工具中,右键单击驱动器并选择 Mount. 这将使您的外部硬盘驱动器选项在台式机和 Finder 菜单。 因此,您可以访问外部硬盘驱动器上存在的所有文件。
    (注意: 如果Mac已经安装了外部硬盘驱动器(卷),则该选项 Unmount 将显示。)
  • 如果无法访问驱动器,则Mount 选项将显示为灰色。external hard drive is not mountable
    (注意: 要修复无法访问或不显示外部硬盘驱动器,请运行急救。)
  • 现在,选择First Aid 选项并单击 Run.Disk utility to repair external hard drive not showing up on Mac
  • 运行急救后,如果磁盘工具检测到外部硬盘驱动器上的任何问题或错误,请单击Repair Disk.

借助上述方法,您可以轻松修复较小的外部硬盘驱动器错误,以将其安装在Mac计算机上以从中访问数据。 如果,如果 急救实用程序无法修复外部硬盘驱动器或SSD, 这表明以下原因;

  • 您的外部驱动器严重损坏或损坏

如果急救磁盘实用程序无法修复驱动器,则可能是由于RAW或驱动器损坏。 保存驱动器上存在的数据信息的文件系统注册表被破坏或损坏,然后Mac无法识别与其连接的外部硬盘驱动器。

  • 外部硬盘文件系统与Mac不兼容

外部硬盘驱动器或USB使用Mac无法读取的文件系统进行了格式化。 例如,如果使用NTFS文件系统格式化了外部硬盘驱动器,则任何Mac计算机都无法读取或写入外部硬盘驱动器。 同样,如果外部硬盘驱动器或USB已使用HFS +文件系统格式化,则Windows操作系统都无法支持它。

ExFAT和FAT32是Windows和Mac操作系统都可以轻松支持的两个最常见的文件系统。

解决此外部硬盘驱动器问题的唯一方法是在Mac上使用exFAT,FAT32,HFS +或APFS等格式化崩溃的外部驱动器。

注意: 如果在Windows计算机上可见,建议通过将所有外部硬盘驱动器数据连接到Windows计算机来复制它。 万一由于严重的故障,外部硬盘驱动器在Widows计算机上没有出现。 然后,以下方法可以帮助您。

不格式化驅動器就無法從Mac上顯示的外部硬盤驅動器恢復數據

利用 Remo恢复Mac, 专门的数据恢复工具,旨在从Mac设备上损坏,无法读取或无法访问的外部硬盘驱动器中恢复数据。 借助高级扫描算法,该工具可以安全地从Mac上未显示的外部硬盘驱动器恢复数据。 该工具还支持300多种文件类型的数据恢复,例如照片,视频,PDF文件,音频文件,原始图像,excel文件等。立即下载此工具!

download now

使用Remo Recover Mac软件从Mac上未显示的外部硬盘驱动器恢复数据:

下载并安装 Remo Recover (Mac) 软件>启动该工具,然后单击 Recover Volumes/ Drives > 选择 Volume Recovery > 选择要恢复的外部硬盘驱动器>单击 Advance Scan > 选择要恢复的文件,然后单击 Save 按钮可在您选择的任何位置还原数据。

观看此视频,了解如何从Mac上无法识别或损坏的外部硬盘驱动器还原数据

格式化外部硬盤驅動器無法在Mac上安全顯示

方法7:将无法识别的外部硬盘驱动器重新格式化为exFATMac OS扩展(日志),FATAPFS文件系

在Mac上重新格式化外部硬盘驱动器以解决在Mac上不显示外部硬盘驱动器的问题之前,建议使用Remo Recover Mac工具从其恢复数据。

  1. 导航Disk Utility
  2. 选择external hard drive 在Mac上未显示并单击 Erase 选项select the external hard drive which needs to be formatted
  3. 现在,给外部硬盘驱动器起一个新名称(可选)
  4. 点击Format 按钮选择您要对其执行的格式类型。 (选择 exFAT 如果要确保它与PC和Mac兼容,否则, Mac OS Extended (Journaled) 可能是最好的选择)format corrupt external hard drive not showing up on mac
  5. 点击Erase 选项,然后等待,直到“磁盘实用程序”功能删除了外部硬盘上存在的所有文件,然后将其重新格式化为选定的文件系统。

然而, 在Mac上格式化SD卡或外部HDD 會導致數據丟失的情況。 因此,建議首先從外部硬盤驅動器恢復數據。 像Remo Recover Mac這樣的專業數據恢復軟件可以輕鬆地從外部硬盤驅動器恢復文件,甚至可以與最新的macOS Big Sur一起使用。

结论

在大多数情况下,选择 External disks 下 Show these items on the desktop 解决此问题。 但是,如果问题与外部硬盘驱动器损坏有关,则需要使用兼容的Mac文件系统(例如exFAT或APFS)格式化驱动器。

Remo Recover Mac, 不僅僅 從Mac上損壞的外部硬盤驅動器中恢復數據 而且還可以從格式化的內部和外部設備(例如外部硬盤驅動器,SSD,USB,存儲卡等)中恢復數據。

修复Mac上不显示外部硬盘驱动器的问题 完整的教程 was last modified: 2月 8th, 2021 by Remo Software

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

*

Fix External Hard Drive Not Showing Up on Mac | Complete Tutorial

External hard drives are not only renowned for their data storing capability but also for their portability function. Whenever you connect your external hard drive or USB to your Mac computer it shows up not only on the desktop but also in the Finder menu on the left-hand side under Locations or Devices.

If you have found that the external hard drive is not showing up on Mac then,  the problem could be due to various reasons like the external hard drive or USB corruption, faulty USB connector, hidden drive, physical damage to the drive, improper formatting, etc.

Regardless of the reasons for the external hard drive not showing up on Mac, by following the proven methods given below you can fix the issue with ease. 

How to Fix External hard drive not showing up on Mac?

Here is a complete guide on how to fix Mac does not recognize the external hard drive issue. And also find out a safe method of recovering data from external hard drive not showing up on Mac using the Remo Recover tool.

  1. Fix issue related to External hard drive and USB cable connectivity.
  2. Fix logical problems related to Mac not recognizing external hard disk.
  3. Run First Aid Utility to repair unrecognized or corrupt external hard drive.
  4. Recover Data from external hard drive not showing up on Mac without formatting the drive.
  5. Format external hard drive not showing up on Mac safely.

Fix issue related to External hard drive and USB cable connectivity

Method 1: Connect the External Hard drive Properly 

The first and foremost thing to do after your external hard drive doesn’t show up on Mac is to check if the external hard disk is properly connected to the Mac or not. Once, it is confirmed that the external hard drive is properly connected to your Mac, then your Mac will easily recognize the external hard drive and the data present on it or else move on to the next method.

Method 2: Fix issues with the USB cable

Plug-in the unrecognized external hard drive to a different USB port of your Mac system to check for any hardware issues. It might look like child's play but inserting an external hard disk to other USB port can help you understand whether the issue is pertaining to the hard drive failure or USB cable.

If there is an issue with the USB cable or HDMI cable connecting your external hard drive to Mac then, it is obvious that external hard drive won’t show up. If your MacBook such as MacBook Pro or MacBook Air is having USB-C or Thunderbolt 3 ports then, you need to make use of USB-C to USB adapter to connect the external hard drive to your Mac. 

Fixing the damaged USB cable becomes a priority to connect your external hard disk to the Mac system. You can easily figure out the issue by making use of a different USB cable to connect your external hard drive with a Mac computer.

In case, if you still find out that the external hard drive is not showing up on Mac despite using different USB cables then, it can be resolved by changing the preference settings on Mac.

But before you move on to the next method, try to restart your Mac computer once.

Fix logical problems related to Mac not recognizing external hard disk

Method 3: Reset Mac computer

Resetting a Mac computer can reboot a few system settings to its default and ensure any issue with respect to it is resolved. To Restart your Mac computer,

Go to the Apple menu and click Restart. (or) Press and hold the power key until a dialog box displays and hit the Restart or press R key.

Method 4: Change Show Preference Settings to Make external hard drive visible on Finder

One of the reasons for Mac not recognizing your external hard drive is due to Show Preference settings. If you have not allowed your Mac to find the external hard disk in the preference setting then, your Mac computer won’t show up external hard disk on the desktop. To allow your Mac to show up the external hard drive, follow the below steps to edit preference setting;

  • Open a Finder window.
  • Go to Preference and select General.

  • Under “Show these items on the desktop”, check the External disks option.
    Change Show Preference Settings to Make external hard drive visible on Finder

If this setting is already setup or your external hard drive is still not showing up on the Mac desktop after the above changes then, here is what is recommended for you.

In most cases, the above-mentioned tips will help you resolve the issue of external hard drive not showing on Mac desktop or Finder menu. Despite performing the above steps if the external hard drive does not show up on Mac then, continue reading the further section.

Method 5: Use different Mac Computer

If you still find your Mac not recognizing hard drive then, try connecting the external hard disk to a different Mac system, sometimes there might be a problem with your Mac computer itself.

Run First Aid Utility to repair unrecognized or corrupt external hard drive

Method 6: Repair external hard drive not showing on Mac using Disk Utility

(It is recommended to perform this method to run first aid utility to fix external hard disk only after performing the above methods.)

Make use of the Disk utility function to check if your external hard drive is showing up or not and fix some common USB or external hard drive errors on Mac. 

  • Navigate to Go > Utilities > Applications > Disk Utility
    Disk utility to repair external hard drive not showing up on Mac
  • If your external hard drive appears in the Disk Utility, right-click on the drive and select Mount. This will make your external hard drive option available on the desktop and in the Finder menu. Thus, you can access all your files present on the external hard drive.

    (Note: If the Mac has already mounted your external hard drive (volume) then, the option Unmount will be displayed.)
  • If the drive is not accessible then, the Mount option will be greyed-out.
    external hard drive is not mountable
    (Note: To repair your inaccessible or not showing external hard drive Run First Aid.)
  • Now, choose the First Aid option and click Run.
    Disk utility to repair external hard drive not showing up on Mac
  • After running the First Aid, if the Disk Utility detects any issues or errors on the external hard drive then, click Repair Disk.

With the help of the above method, you can easily repair the minor external hard drive errors to mount it on the Mac computer to access data from it. In case, if the first aid utility fails to repair the external hard drive or SSD, this indicates the following reasons;

  • Your external drive is severely corrupt or broken
    If First Aid Disk Utility fails to repair the drive, it could be due to the RAW or broken drive. The file system registry that holds the information of the data present on the drive gets broken or damaged then, Mac would not recognize the external hard drive connected to it. 
  • The external hard drive file system is not compatible with Mac
    External hard drive or USB is formatted using a file system that your Mac cannot read. For example, if an external hard drive is formatted using the NTFS file system then, no Mac computer can read or write the external hard drive. In the same way, if the external hard drive or USB is formatted with the HFS+ file system then, no Windows operating system can support it.

ExFAT and FAT32 are the two most common file systems that can be easily supported by both Windows and Mac operating systems.

The only method available to fix this issue of external hard drive not showing up on Mac is to format the crashed external drive on Mac using exFAT, FAT32, HFS+, or APFS, etc.

Note: It is recommended to copy all your external hard drive data by connecting it to you a Windows computer if it is visible on it. In case, if the external hard drive is neither showing up on Widows computer due to severe malfunction. Then, the below method can help it.

Recover Data from external hard drive not showing up on Mac without formatting the drive

Utilize Remo Recover Mac, a specialized data recovery tool designed to recover data from an external hard drive that is corrupt, unreadable, or inaccessible on Mac devices. With the help of advanced scanning algorithms, the tool safely recovers data from external hard drive not showing up on Mac. The tool also supports data recovery of more than 300 file types such as photos, videos, PDF files, audio files, raw-images, excel files, etc. Download this tool now!

download now

Recover data from external hard drive not showing up on Mac using Remo Recover Mac software:

Download and install Remo Recover (Mac) software > Launch the tool and click on Recover Volumes/ Drives > choose Volume Recovery > Select the external hard drive to be recovered > click on Advance Scan > Select the files which you want to recover and click Save button to restore the data on any location of your choice.

Watch this video to know how to restore data from unrecognized or corrupt external hard drive on Mac

Format external hard drive not showing up on Mac safely

Method 7: Reformat your unrecognized External hard drive to exFAT,  Mac OS Extended (Journaled), FAT, or APFS File system

Before you reformat your external hard drive on Mac to fix the issue of not showing external hard drive on Mac, it is suggested to recover data from it using the Remo Recover Mac tool.  

  1. Navigate to Disk Utility
  2. Select the external hard drive not showing up on Mac and click the Erase option
    select the external hard drive which needs to be formatted
  3. Now, give a new name to your external hard drive (optional) 
  4. Click the Format button to choose the format type you want to perform on it. (Select exFAT if you want to make sure it's compatible with PC and Mac, otherwise, Mac OS Extended (Journaled) is probably the best option)
    format corrupt external hard drive not showing up on mac
  5. Click on the Erase option and wait until the Disk utility function removes all the files present on the external hard disk and then reformat it with the selected file system.

However, formatting the SD card or external HDD on Mac will lead to a data loss scenario. Hence, it is suggested to first recover data from the external hard drive. A professional data recovery software like Remo Recover Mac easily recovers files from the external hard drive, it even works with the latest macOS Big Sur. 

Conclusion

In most cases, selecting External disks under Show these items on the desktop fixes the issue. However, if the issue is related to the external hard drive corruption then, it requires formatting the drive with compatible Mac file systems like exFAT or APFS.

Remo Recover Mac, not only recovers data from corrupt external hard drive on Mac but also recovers data from formatted internal and external devices like external hard drive, SSD, USB, memory card, etc.

Fix External Hard Drive Not Showing Up on Mac | Complete Tutorial was last modified: December 18th, 2020 by John Harris

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*